PDA

View Full Version : A good club player wants help :)

MrSornia
03-02-2006, 12:05 AM
Hi; I' m new here. I'm in England and have been playing properly for 8 years now. I'm BCF 108 (ELO approx 1800) but I can usually play better than that as I have a lot of experience of things. I read Teach yourself better chess before one season and it made me jump from 55 to 107 :eek: Which is an ELO jump of about 250-300 points, almost unheard of at top level Lol. I have a problem in consistency of form as I'm totally talentless but work really hard to get where I am. I'll show you a few of my best wins and losses, but one thing people say about me is i always get excellent piece coordination, though I'm very perfectionist with making best moves-my idea is that if I can play perfectly through the opening then not only does it increase pressure on the opponent, but if I do go wrong later, it's a fallback. Weaknesses other than thsi are clock control, handling the Sicilian (barely 33% score in 5 years) and endgames.

qpawn
04-02-2006, 10:11 AM
They are quite good games.

A few ways to handle the Sicillian [I assume you mean from the white side since in your games you replied to 1.e4 with e5.

[1] The aggro approach: 2.f4 [GM Mark Hebden's grandprix attack] or the morra gambit [d4 and c3]

But I don't think that this is your style based upon the games.

[2] A positional course:
The closed [slammed by theory I know] : Nc3 d3, g3 , Bg2, Ne2 etc. But it is a good line for someone like yourself who coordinates pieces well.

Or try 2. c4 [again all theory books will slam this move as premature and a weakening of the d4 square] This leads after d3 to a position that often arises in the English. I have played this kind of position a few times against Fritz8. It is a very gradual build up that will frustrate the daylights out of any wannabe Nadjorf or dragon player.