PDA

View Full Version : What is your favourite opening?

Frank Walker
26-09-2005, 08:27 PM
What is your favourite opening?

Kevin Bonham
26-09-2005, 10:29 PM
See .sig. Rather obvious really but I do average about 79% with this defence (I invariably respond ...e6 to 1.e4 and don't care who knows it) compared with 72% for all other games, including the White ones. My favourite line is the Closed Tarrasch (1.e4 e6 2.d4 d5 3.Nd2 Nf6) with which I've scored 91%.

I also like the Rossolimo Sicilian (1.e4 c5 2.Nf3 Nc6 3.Bb5) and have scored 82% with that.

I started playing the English a few years ago now and then and have so far played it sixteen times without losing (+10=6). I wouldn't however say that I like all lines of the English for White, but I'm not letting on which ones annoy me. :lol:

Trent Parker
27-09-2005, 02:37 PM
My favorite opening (which i have recently "shelved") is the Blackmar-Diemar Gambit. I still play this in skittles games but don't play it in tourney anymore..... I am trying to get a bit more of a positional game rather than an out and out attacking game.....

One of my old faithful openings which i still bring out of the closet is the Colle System. I also generally use the semislav against White which can be a similar position only reversed.....

Recently ive been playing Queens Gambit as white.

I occasionally play the Scandinavian (portugese variation). But i play this less than what i used to as well.

I occasionally play the french. Hey KB i had a great game as black in the closed tarrasch. Should have drawn it but blundered.... played too quick and picked up my rook instead of my king.... :doh:

Recently ive been playing the __________ Defense as black......

Kevin Bonham
27-09-2005, 11:10 PM
My favorite opening (which i have recently "shelved") is the Blackmar-Diemar Gambit.

I meant to post something predicting that someone would say that. Here for all you BDG addicts is a spray against your favourite opening that I came across recently: