View Full Version : 2022 MCC Blitz Championship (Sunday 6 Feb)

Thai Ly
14-01-2022, 11:02 PM
2022 Melbourne Chess Club Blitz Championship

Melbourne Chess Cub
66 Leicester Street, Fitzroy, VIC

Sunday 6 February 2022
Entries Close: 3:45 pm
Tournament Start: 4:00 pm

13 Round Swiss Tournament
Entry is open to all players (Members and non-Member).

Players may take up to 2 half point byes during rounds 1-11

Time Control
3 minutes + 2 seconds per move.

Pairings and Ratings
The tournament will be Tornelo rated only.
Pairings will be done on the basis of Tornelo ratings
Any player who does not have a current Tornelo rating will have a Tornelo profile generated based on the current FIDE or ACF rating.

Entry Fee
$12 Full Member, $10 Concession / Junior Member. (Add $10 for non Members)
Club Member GMs, IMs and FMs free. GMs and IMs not resident in Victoria free.

First prize of $150 and 2 rating prizes of $50 are guaranteed.
Further prizes may be determined depending on numbers of entrants.
The highest scoring MCC member will obtain the title of MCC Blitz Champion.
If necessary a playoff or count-back may be used to determined the MCC Blitz Champion.

Tournament Organiser
Thai Ly (0421 912 296 or melbchessclub@gmail.com)

To be confirmed

Further Questions

ENTER ONLINE HERE (https://tornelo.com/chess/orgs/melbourne-chess-club/events/2022-mcc-blitz-championship/summary)
or in person at MCC prior to Entries Close time.

(NOTE: MCC will be following all current government directives re COVID. Please see Tornelo tournament page for more details).

17-01-2022, 02:38 PM
For those wanting to get extra practice in blitz prior to the event - a reminder that every Tuesday night (6.30pm start) - MCC holds blitz tournaments so you can come and practice for the blitz event of the year!

Thai Ly
05-02-2022, 06:30 PM
A reminder to all that MCC Blitz Championship starts tomorrow afternoon at 4pm. Not too late for anyone interested in playing to enter.

Ethan Arbel
Michael Baron (FM)
Hamish Bassig
Aden Buhagiar
Ari Dale (IM)
Samuel De Rooy
Jack De Rooy
Domagoj Dragicevic (FM)
Chloe Fan
Justin Goodison
Leonard Goodison
Xavier Hong
Wilbur Hong
Adam Kelly
Thai Ly
Daniel Poberezovsky
Maickel Rodriguez
Colin Savige
Maanas Teja Neela
Ryder Testolin
Rod Thanh Nguyen
Walter Wolffs

06-02-2022, 12:46 PM
A reminder that event is open to all, not just MCC memebers! 4pm start and its not too late to enter now!

06-02-2022, 08:13 PM
Today's blitz results.

Scott Colliver
06-02-2022, 09:01 PM
Rheyansh Annapureddy mixing it will the big boys at 7 or 8 years old.

06-02-2022, 10:00 PM
Rheyansh Annapureddy mixing it will the big boys at 7 or 8 years old.

Yes, He beat an IM!

Thai Ly
07-02-2022, 10:36 AM
Today's blitz results.

Congratulations to IM Ari Dale for winning the tournament and getting the title of 2022 MCC Blitz Champion.

Ari won with 11.5/13. FM Michael Baron was 2nd with 11 points.