PDA

View Full Version : In Blitz, Does the illegal move have 1 or 2 minutes penalty?



DontAcceptDraw
08-05-2021, 08:41 AM
In Appendix Blitz, article B.2 of the chess laws says “The penalties mentioned in Articles 7 and 9 of the Competition Rules shall be one minute instead of two minutes.”

But... three lines down it says...
B.4 Otherwise (If the competition rules do not apply), play shall be governed by the Rapid chess Laws as in Article A.2 and A.4.

And A.4 Says (specifically, article A.4.2) “… He (the arbiter) shall act according to Article 7.5.5 …”

And finally article 7.5.5 says “…for the first completed illegal move by a player, the arbiter shall give two minutes extra time to his opponent…”

In short, I see a certain contradiction in the wording. I think the penalty is 2 minutes (If the competition rules do not apply).

Craig_Hall
14-05-2021, 04:42 AM
I think B2 modifies the penalties so it would be 1 minute either way.