View Full Version : One Day Tournament for children Tuesday 27 October at ATW

Allan Menham
02-10-2015, 09:53 AM
This great chess tournament for children in the Wide Bay Burnett (and beyond!!) is eagerly looked forward to by the chess playing children. The tournament is conducted by the Bundaberg Chess Club Inc. Seven round swiss. Great cash prizes and medallions for the top players and top teams. Children are nominated through their schools. As the ATW gives the club the venue free of charge large numbers of cash prizes are given. It is expected that up to 150 children could compete. Last year 127 children competed. There are two divisions Primary and Secondary. Nomination fee is $8 per child. Last year total prize money and medallions given out exceeded $1000 in value!!

Further information is available from Allan on 0417073094 or through bundabergchessclubinc@outlook.com

In previous years there have been teams nominated from Rockhampton, Gladstone, Hervey Bay, Maryborough, and Bundaberg.:clap::clap:

Allan Menham
29-10-2015, 07:25 PM
One Day Tournament for School Children Tuesday 27 October at ATW Bundaberg

It was a great day of chess at the ATW with 92 Primary School competitors from 12 schools and 65 Secondary School competitors from 7 schools. Urangan High School entered a team. There was also a player from Fraser Coast Anglican College.

The News Mail had a full page on the tournament on Wednesday 28 October.

It was a great venue and as the ATW made the Sails Room available at no cost, $1000 in prize money was in the prize pool. Medallions were available for the three winning teams in both Primary and Secondary and medallions were available for the top three players in both Secondary and Primary. Also there was the Primary School Trophy and the Secondary School Trophy.

In the Primary section, Walkervale came first and won the Primary School Trophy, Thabeban and Norville came equal second but Thabeban was declared the winner on countback. The top Primary players were Adheesha Suraweera, Brenton McHale, Reece Buckholz and Cody Stainkey all with 6 games out of seven. On countback, Adheesha was declared first, Brenton McHale was declared second and Reece Buckholz was declared third. 25 players won cash prizes and two players won special draw prizes.

In the Secondary section, Shalom came first and won the Secondary Trophy, Urangan came second and Bundaberg High and North Bundaberg High came equal third but Bundaberg High was declared third on countback. The top Secondary players were Tim Harris and Patrick Harris with a grand slam win of seven out of seven games. On countback, Tim was declared first and Patrick was declared second. Brandon Dahl and Bryce Samuels Rosser won six games each and Brandon Dahl was declared third place on countback. Eleven players received cash prizes and two players won special draw prizes.

The players in the winning teams were as follows:-

Shalom Tim Harris, Patrick Harris, Bryce Samuels Rosser and Brialey Hohn

Urangan Mitch Pocock, Tyson Haynes, Kurt James Landers and Trinity Smith

Bundaberg High Alex Buckholz, Joshua Howard, Joshua Mangin, and Glen Nicholl

Walkervale Brenton McHale, Reece Buckholz, Jason Smith and Nikolas Duck

Thabeban Cody Stainkey, Tristan Hotz, Bradley Thompson and Zander Kerr

Norville Cooper Stevens, Charlie Batterham, Fletcher Churchill and Isaac Warren