View Full Version : 2015 South Island Rapid Championships - Christchurch, Oct 11

10-06-2015, 06:46 PM
2015 South Island Rapid Championship

Organised by the Canterbury Chess Club. This event is a Class 3 event in the Poison Pawn Grand Prix sponsored by Dancing Water Wines (http://www.dancingwater.co.nz/) and Benson Insurance Brokers (http://www.bensoninsurance.co.nz/). The entry form is available here (http://www.newzealandchess.co.nz/downloads/2015SouthIslandRapid.pdf).

11 October (Sunday).

9/27 Tyne Street, Christchurch.

Tournament timetable
6 Round Swiss with all rounds played in one day. The players meeting will be at 9:30am on the 11th. Round 1 will be at 9:45am, round 2 at 11am, round 3 at 1pm, round 4 at 2:15pm, round 5 at 3:30pm and round 6 at 4:45pm. There is a break for lunch between rounds 2 and 3. Prizegiving will be as soon as practical after the end of round 6.

Time control
25 mins per player, per game plus a 5 second increment added from move 1.

Prize Fund
There is a guaranteed minimum prize fund of $500 made up of cash, wine and book prizes. This will be increased if entries allow.

The highest-placed South Island NZ player (NZ resident or citizen registered with a South Island club) will be the South Island Rapid Champion. Prizes will be shared between players on the same number of points - tie-breaks will not be used. Players may not win more than one open or grade prize, but any meritorious performance or upset prizes will be awarded in addition to other prizes.

Entry fee
$50, or $0 for juniors (born on or after 1/1/1995). $10 discount for entries received by September 30. NZ players must be NZCF-registered or pay the $20 NZCF registration fee with their entry. Players who also enter the South Island Rapid Championship may pay a combined entry fee of $100 or $60 for juniors ($10 discount not available in conjunction with this).

The event will NZCF rapid-rated.

Director of Play
Director of Play (Arbiter) is IA Craig Hall.

South Island Rapid Championship Competition Rules

Default time is 30 minutes after the scheduled start of play, per NZCF Tournament Regulations, or if a player runs out of time without playing a move. Players who default a game without notifying the Arbiter may be deemed to have withdrawn from the tournament at the Arbiter's discretion.
Appeals: A player may appeal against a decision of the Arbiter. An Appeals Committee will be elected at the Players Meeting. Appeals must be lodged in writing within 10 minutes of the end of the game. A fee of $100 will apply, to be refunded if the appeal is successful or otherwise at the discretion of the Appeals Committee.
Mobile Phones: During a game, players are forbidden to have a mobile phone, electronic means of communication or any device capable of suggesting chess moves <B>on their person</B> in the playing venue. Such devices may be stored in a player's bag, which is to be left under their table during the game unless permission is given by the Arbiter. Such devices are to be switched off and are not to make any noise. Breaches of this rule will result in loss of game unless the Arbiter decides otherwise.

Accommodation options will be listed in the South Island Championship thread (http://www.chesschat.org/showthread.php?15963-2015-South-Island-Championships-Christchurch-Oct-7-10) and on the Canterbury Chess Club website at www.chess.org.nz. Anyone who is interested in sharing accommodation, please feel free to post in the other thread and we will try to facilitate this.

24-07-2015, 09:48 PM
Entries to date:

Ross Black

Correction of above initial post (since I can't edit it now)

Junior entry fee is $40, not $0.

05-08-2015, 06:25 PM
FM Mark Noble has entered.

12-08-2015, 04:45 PM
Latest entries:

Bob Clarkson
Quentin Johnson
Del Robinson

30-08-2015, 08:11 PM
Latest entries:

Arie Nijman
Brian Nijman
Hamish Gold
Rik Hothersall
Bob van den Bergh

16-09-2015, 06:30 PM
Latest entries:

Guy Mulinder
Leo Chen
Martin Rademacher
Federico Roura
Stephen Taylor
Robin Wan
Edward Rains
Timothy Rains

23-09-2015, 12:12 PM
Latest entries:

Leighton Nicholls
Micah Nylund
Timothy Nylund
Benjamin Nylund
George Aranui

24-09-2015, 09:16 PM
John Sutherland has entered.

04-10-2015, 08:16 PM
Vega files are now up at www.chess.org.nz - link to the SI Rapid is on the left, and the link to the Vega files is near the top of the page, or click on http://www.chess.org.nz/Vega/wwwSouthIslandRapid2015/ for the direct link.

With 25 entries to date, there is still room for more, although the $10 early bird discount to the entry fee is now finished.

11-10-2015, 08:02 AM
The Rapid is underway on time - 24 entries in the end. All results in Round 1 went according to seeding, although some games were closer than others!

Round two has just started - keep an eye on the Vega output http://www.chess.org.nz/Vega/wwwSouthIslandRapid2015/ for results and pairings.

14-10-2015, 04:27 PM
Congratulations to the winners - FM Mark Noble and Anthony Carpinter! As neither player is from the South Island, the joint South Island Rapid Champions were Leighton Nicholls and Quentin Johnson, who were third equal overall.

Other places / prizes:
First = U1900 - Arie Nijman, Ross Black, Kate Song, Stephen Taylor and Martin Rademacher
First U1600 - Jessica Pelayo
Second U1600 - Del Robinson
Upset prize - Jessica Pelayo

Vega information including pairings, standings and other information - http://www.chess.org.nz/Vega/wwwSouthIslandRapid2015/

14-10-2015, 09:37 PM
Great to see Tony Carpinter active again. I think Bernard is also at least semi-active.