PDA

View Full Version : Colours for late entry

forlano
17-05-2009, 05:29 AM
Hello,

I am an Italian arbiter and programmer (Vega's author). With a friend of mine (another arbiter) we are developing a pairing engine that implement the FIDE Dutch-Swiss. Currently we are performing several test of the program and comparing the results against those given by the certificated Swiss Master 5.5 (SM).
We obtained so far several discrepancies and we need to discuss them with expert arbiters to decide how to tune the program.
Googling internet I found only this site (in the past there was the FIDE forum now turned off) where many arbiters discuss the same problems at which we are interested too. So I hope to receive feedback from you. Moreover I hope that my questions may be of some interest for this forum.

My first post regards the color assignment between two players (in brackets the color hystori):

case 1)

A [WB]
B [--]

Player B entered the tournament after two forfeits so he has no color in the previous two games.
SM performar the pair

B - A

giving the white to player B and two consecutive black to player A. Is it correct? We would prefer

A - B

giving the alternation to A being the color preference of B practically 0.

case 2)

A [BWWBWB]
B [--WBWB]

it is related to the previous one. Who gets the white?

Thank you very much in advance for your answers.
Luigi Forlano

Oepty
17-05-2009, 11:43 AM
In case 1 the pairing should be A-B as you suggest.

In case 2 the pairing should be B-A

Scott

Edit: The answers above assume A is the higher ranked player.

Bill Gletsos
17-05-2009, 11:54 AM
In case 1 the pairing should be A-B as you suggest.

In case 2 the pairing should be B-A

ScottUnder what specific dutch pairing rules do you base your decisions on.

Oepty
17-05-2009, 11:58 AM
Under what specific dutch pairing rule do you base your decisions on.

Bill. The normal rules. Are my answers right or wrong?
Scott

Bill Gletsos
17-05-2009, 12:04 PM